Blog #8 For your week 8 blog, I want you to look into social networking sites and the implications of their use. Specifically, I want you to enlighten yourself to their privacy (or lack of) policies. Do some digging in Facebook’s policies and see if there is something that catches your attention, surprises you, shocks you or, worse, horrifies you :-). Copy the phrase/sentence/concept that caught your eye and write a reflection on: HOW you reacted, WHY you reacted the way you did and WHAT you think the implications of this policy are.

27 Feb

I honestly didn’t see anything on Facebook’s Privacy policies that shocked me.  They are really good policies and something I’d expect. For example, if someone on your friend list wants to see your recent status or post, they can only see it if they are allowed to by you.  You have  the power to make so either everyone, friends only or specifically certain friends can or cannot see what you post.  It all up to you as how you set it up.  As far as how I reacted, well it was what I expected to find that nothing shocking or anything is going on that if something I don’t want happens, its all because I didn’t set it so that it wouldn’t happen.  As far as why i reacted the way I did was because I didn’t see anything shocking to me.  It all looked like I would expect it too.  As far as implications are concerned I think its truly so that facebook users have a pleasant experience and not be bothered by ads or worry about others seeing what they want to be private. 

Leave a Reply

